School Ethos

Accommodation

Leith Primary School is a non-denominational primary school which serves the Leith area of north Edinburgh and was built in 1898. The school serves a diverse catchment area and covers stages Primary 1 to Primary 7, as well as a nursery.  There are currently 11 classes this session with approx 270 children in total from P1 to P7.  There is a nursery class accommodated in the school annex.  There are 20 places in the morning and 20 in the afternoon.

There are 24 rooms in the school, some used by whole classes, some used as music, science or group work rooms.  In the building at the rear is a large hall which doubles as the Gym and Assembly Hall.

Aims of the School

At Leith Primary we all believe Learning and Teaching means a learning and supporting community that:

  1. promotes reflection and self-evaluation.
  2. has high expectations, supporting all to reach their full potential.
  3. works with the home and the community.
  4. promotes a flexible, fun, innovative and balanced curriculum.
  5. promotes inclusive practice and a secure and caring environment to develop equality, mutual respect, citizenship and self-esteem.

 

The School Day

Class                                  Morning Session                 Afternoon Session

P.1-2  Mon.-Thurs.             8.50 – 12.00                          1.00  –   3.00
Friday                                 8.50 – 12.00

P.3-7  Mon.-Thurs.             8.50 – 12.15                           1.00  –   3.15
Friday                                 8.50 – 12.25

During the morning session there is a break of 15 minutes. 10.30 to 10.45am
On Fridays this break is from 10.30 till 10.50am.

Assemblies are held on Tuesdays 11.45 – 12.15 Music assembly for P3 to P7
Fridays 9.50 to 10.30am for P1 to P7.

The Nursery Day

.                                 Morning Session                 Afternoon Session

Mon.-Fri.                    8.55 – 11.30                          12.30 – 3.05

Agreed Term Dates for Session 2013-2014

Autumn term

  • Monday 12 August 2013 – Staff resume
  • Tuesday 13 August 2013 – Staff only
  • Wednesday 14 August 2013 – Pupils return
  • Schools closed Monday 16 September 2013 – Autumn Holiday
  • Tuesday 17 September 2013 – All resume
  • Friday 11 October 2013 – Mid-term, All break
  • Monday 21 October 2013 – Staff resume
  • Tuesday 22 October 2013 – Pupils resume
  • Thursday 19 December 2013 – Term ends

Spring term

  • Monday 6 January 2014 – Staff resume
  • Tuesday 7 January 2014 – Pupils resume
  • Friday 14 February 2014 – Mid-term, All break
  • Monday 24 February 2014 – All resume
  • Friday 4 April 2014 – Term ends

The Easter break incorporates the following holidays:

  • Monday 14 April 2014 – Spring Holiday
  • Friday 18 April 2014 – Good Friday
  • Monday 21 April 2014 – Easter Monday

Summer term

  • Tuesday 22 April 2014 – All resume
  • Monday 5 May 2014 – May Day, schools closed
  • Tuesday 6 May 2014 – All resume
  • Monday 19 May 2014 – Victoria Day, schools closed
  • Tuesday 20 May 2014 – All resume
  • Thursday 5 June 2014 – Staff Only
  • Friday 6 June 2014 – All resume
  • Friday 27 June 2014 – Term ends

P7/S1 Transition Days – Tuesday 17 June, Wednesday 18 June and Thursday 19 June 2014.

 

Featured Policies

Behaviour Policy

Behaviour Policy

Expectations of behaviour of children during after school clubs should be equal to during the school day. Wherever possible, coaches... more

School Uniform

School Uniform

Parents are asked to co-operate with the school in encouraging the wearing of the school uniform. Wearing school uniform contributes to... more

School Aims

School Aims

It is recognised that in forming the aims of this school, concern must be given to developing pupils' attitudes which... more